8. The protection of beaches and the coast according to the national, autonomous and local regulations

Spain's coastal zone management jurisdiction is shared by the different public administrations. The Spanish Constitution reserves for the general administration of the state and to the autonomous communities the largest part of public functions regarding this matter, although leaving some jurisdiction to local administrations.

The following table shows the complex situation referring to the sharing of jurisdiction with regard to exclusively coastal areas and their biodiversity.


The jurisdiction regarding the territorial planning of the island rest since 2001 with the Island's Council of Menorca. This fact implied the approval from that time of several territorial and urban planning plans that currently make up the backbone of a territorial model focused on the preservation of the territory and landscape. Some of the most relevant are:

  • The Island's Territorial Plan (PTI), approved in 2003 is a territorial project essential for the social and economic development of Menorca. Every instrument of urban planning in any of the eight municipalities of the island must adhere to the dispositions established therein.

  • Special ANEI plans (Natural Areas of Special Interest), whose purpose is to establish the measures and conditions needed for the protection, conservation, management and improvement of natural features, landscape and artistic and history heritage of these areas. Nowadays there are 5 ANEI areas approved in Menorca, 4 of which are highly relevant for the Menorcan coastal area (ANEI Me-2 "La Vall beach", Me-3 "From Els Alocs to Fornells", Me-13 "From Binigaus to Cala Mitjana beach" and Me-14 "Southern coast of Ciutadella".

  • S’Albufera des Grau Natural Park, created in 1995 and extended in 2003.

  • Maritime reserve of the North of Menorca.

  • Areas of the Natura 2000 Network, which include places of common interest (LIC) and special bird-protection areas (ZEPA).

Areas of the Natura 2000 Network Source: Xarxa Natura 2000 - Conselleria de Medi Ambient. DG de Biodiversitat. Govern de les Illes Balears